Rodney Schlegel, PT, DSc (Hon), ECS


Rodney Schlegel, PT, DSc (Hon), ECS provides Electromyography and Nerve Conduction testing for Tidewater Physical Therapy primarily at its Salisbury, MD. He joined Tidewater Physical Therapy in 2018.

Rod has been in the physical therapy field for over 60 years. He served in the United States Airforce as an active duty medic and physical therapy technician from 1957-1961. After his time in active duty, he enrolled in University of Maryland’s School of Medicine, School of Physical Therapy. He was graduated from the University of Maryland in 1964. In 1989 he became Board Certified as an Electrophysiologic Clinical Specialist (ECS) by the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties. In 2011, he was granted an Honorary Doctor of Science degree by Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions for excellence in clinical practice, contributions to the profession and contributions to the specialty of clinical electrophysiology (electroneuromyography).

Professionally, Rod has been involved in many organizations, groups, and committee’s pertaining to his specialty that include: Founding member, Chair and Director of the Hand Rehabilitation Section of the APTA; Founding member, Chair, and Vice President and Board of Governors of the American Congress of Electroneuromyography; Vice Chair of the APTA Section on Electrophysiological and Electrokinesiological Measurements (SEEM); Chair of SEEM Task Force on Specialization in Electroneuromyography; Member of American Physical Therapy Association Task Force on Definition of Physical Therapy Practice; Member of Committee for Standardization of Electrophysiologic Evaluation Nomenclature; Member on Task Force on Development of Competencies for PT Electromyographers; Member Section on Clinical Electrophysiology Continuation Committee; Liaison to Food and Drug Admin for electromyographic devices; Member Editorial Board for Journal of Clinical Electrophysiology; Chair Committee on Peer Review and Standards of Practice for PT electromyographers; Member of American Physical Therapy Association Specialty Council on Clinical Electrophysiology; and Member and Chair of the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties.